Dictionary Suite

European Union

yuh r pi n yun yn
part of speech: noun
definition: an economic and political union of a large number of democratic countries in Europe formed in 1993 from the former European Economic Community. Additional nations have joined since 1993, and one, the United Kingdom, had been a member originally but removed itself in 2020. The European Union currently consists of the member states Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden. Many of the countries share a common currency, the Euro.